The Wall and Ageing

Standard

There comes a certain time in ones life when one starts realizing that one is ageing. A few days ago it really hit me. This month it is exactly 20 years ago when the Berlin Wall fell, an event of which I did not understand the implications but which I vividly remember, and here I am studying and socializing with people who were not or barely conscious when this historic event happened. Now, I am the last person on this planet to be ageist and I never minded having friends and working with fellow and sister students who are a lot younger than I am. Nor am I looking or acting my age – whatever that is; acting ones age- but when you start making an attempt on exchanging 80’s nostalgia you might start feeling like the odd one out. I think there is this theory that engaging with younger people keeps you young like engaging with older people does age you. I believe that the best age in life is the age you are right now. The age I am now is better than any age I have been because I feel far less self-centred than I felt a decade ago, I don’t worry about things I used to worry about because now I consider them trivial and not worth spending energy on. I know far better what I want and what I don’t want, I know far better who I am and I am far more focused. But to quote The  Lowlands God of football; ‘every advantage has its disadvantage’. In my case it is gaining weight for no apparent reason. This fairy eats fairly to very healthy and exercises in the form of cycling, yoga and hitting the gym on a daily basis. None of these habits have changed. The only thing that has changed is the size of my belly. Now I am in Alex I don’t cycle. No one does and if you knew how people drive here you understand why (and no; there are no cycling lanes). I still exercise by dragging my fairy ass to the gym and since I don’t eat wheat ‘cause my skin really doesn’t like it I barely eat because everything edible in this country is wheat based. I used to tone up really quickly but those days seem to be over and since I love my food I am not gonna not eat ‘cause that makes me miserable which is far more unhealthy than not being skinny. Life is about making choices and I guess you can’t have everything in life. Or can you…?

About Lemba

Non-conformist Writing Soul and Language Geek from the Lowlands with a South London accent, currently living a nomadic, location- independent lifestyle. While executing the Big Fat Writing Plan I’m invading cyberspace with my views on 'expat living', travel and other lifestyle choices, current affairs and other randomness. Welcome to the Dark Fairy Zone.

Leave a Reply

