It Ain’t Over Until the Fat Lady Sings

Standard

The radio silence has had no specific reason. Laziness, refocusing, reorientation, homesickness, writers block, who’s to say. Although I’d been a pretty bad student the last few weeks -if not months- of the course and I don’t like routine, I miss the focus in my life that used to be studying Arabic at the centre. Almost all uni friends have gone, Jameela and I are vacating our mansion, which seems to have an expiry date as stuff randomly breaks, falls apart and/or stops working for no apparent reason and then I won’t have a home either. There is plenty of stuff I can do; yoga, hit my home gym, study Arabic ā€“ tab3an- work, write…but all I seem very good at at the moment is sleeping in, go to a cafe with wi-fi connection, as our internet subscription has expired and Anna, who left two weeks ago, took the router with her, attempting to work ā€“ I do need the internet for that- but what I mainly do is check my yahoo account ten times an hour, faff about on facebook and chat to my sister or the Helms on skype. And in the evening I might go out for a few drinks or stay in and watch a film. All this is very chilled but not horrible productive. I guess a sense of boredom has kicked in yet again. As Cairo is getting pretty hot it’s not the pleasantly mental escape as it is the rest of the year. The summer season has started and the beaches are getting really crowded. The only people left are my Masree mates who have different routines than I do and we go to the same old places to drink the same old juices or wine, smoke the same old sheesha and listen to the same old sh*tty music.

I still have to be weary taking a taxi on my own after midnight, I have the same old fight with the driver about the fare price, the city is still dirty and disorganised. I still get harassed by men on the street, especially when I accidentally have ‘too much’ flesh on display, I still don’t understand Masree, and there is still no establishment in town where they play decent music and the crowd is genuinely cool and interesting. I think it’s just time to go to somewhere more familiar, where I can cycle, go about my business independently from anyone any hour of the day, where I am fluent in the language, where I am not (so much) an odd one out, where I can wear what I want without being considered loose or weird, where I can have my hair done, where a rule is a rule and where good wine is widely available for reasonable prices. I will be back, insha allah, but I need to get out first.

About Lemba

Non-conformist Writing Soul and Language Geek from the Lowlands with a South London accent, currently living a nomadic, location- independent lifestyle. While executing the Big Fat Writing Plan Iā€™m invading cyberspace with my views on 'expat living', travel and other lifestyle choices, current affairs and other randomness. Welcome to the Dark Fairy Zone.

2 responses »

  1. London’s calling! šŸ˜‰ U will be most welcome back to the familiarity and amazing diversity of this cosmopolitan city! All your friends here are dying to see you and catch up on some much missed good wine drinking and a boogie here and there! šŸ˜‰ it’s been an amazing year, an amazing experience for u! Enjoy the rest of ur time! Much love xxx

Leave a Reply

