There Goes the NeighbourHood

Standard

The other day I went for a drink in the Hood with two of my old housemates to catch up on a rather eventful last year. It was a really nice afternoon and eve. It became a bit of a (modest) pub crawl visiting familiar places that all had been refurbished. The last place we visited, under the arches of the railway, I remember as a funky place where they make killer cocktails. The cocktails are still good, but the place had changed. I had been ‘glammed down’ a bit and the crowd look very different. One of the reasons why I love the Hood is because it has a very funky, interesting, inspiring crowd, that loves its neighbourhood. The crowd in that bar seemed like people who live in my new neighbourhood and who I always like to slag off for being pretentious wanna bees. Maybe there was a concert in the Academy and this crowd thought of having a drink and/or a bite on their way from the tube or train station. But chances are that these are the new people on the block. The Hood is gentrifying which I believe is a good thing. Key is to keep the balance. Gentrification brings money and also people who wouldn’t have thought of moving to the Hood a few years ago. The Hood therefore runs the risk of losing its charm, its funkiness, its edge. I am very grateful for the flat and the neighbourhood I am currently living in. I would find it a real shame though if the Hood is starting to attract the same crowed and its funkiness is slowly going to the dogs. May the forces of cool forbid

image:urban junkies.com

 

About Lemba

Non-conformist Writing Soul and Language Geek from the Lowlands with a South London accent, currently living a nomadic, location- independent lifestyle. While executing the Big Fat Writing Plan I’m invading cyberspace with my views on 'expat living', travel and other lifestyle choices, current affairs and other randomness. Welcome to the Dark Fairy Zone.

Leave a Reply

