In the Beginning There Was the Word

Standard

Now that I have come out as a bit of a language geek I like to share my thoughts on two issues I have connected to the word; Jesus freaks and librarians.

I think I am a pretty good fairy and on the karma scale of things I like to think that I’m not doing too shabby. I am however no saint and not completely free of prejudice and judgement – I know very few people who are. I slag of people who make their money in a certain line of work, people with a certain nationality and I find people who voted for that political party very uncool. Now, I am a big fan of libraries. The amount of knowledge, information and entertainment that is available in one place, very systematically ordered, is an absolute miracle. A place where you can go and just chill or get completely freaked out about meeting the next deadline. And the fact that the public libraries are free in this country is a very big up. Power to the people and the word. The often rather uncool element of a library is the librarian. They seem to love books, filing systems and meticulousness but are not horrible fond of people. They appear moody, grumpy or a bit unsociable. As if dealing with people is the least favourite part of their job. At my uni library there is this very vivacious librarian with long nails and an immaculate weave. She definitely brings the funk into the profession. Is she the future of her line of work or the exception to my rule?

In that same library I came across another type of folk I can have a problem with: Jesus freaks. Not because they love Jesus, but because some of them insist I should love Jesus too. I am fully aware that there are people who are a big fan of their guy- God, Jesus- and won’t bother a soul about it. When asked they are happy to tell you about their conviction but fully respect your conviction is another. I am highly sensitive to the converting type within any faith, although I have never felt the pressure to convert to Buddhism or except polytheism as the way forward. I am happy if you have seen the light and accepted Jesus or who ever as your saviour. Assuming that it if it works for you it’ll work for everyone is almost rude.

In the beginning there was the word, amen to that. But have some faith in the word. Trust that people will find their way to it rather than you forcing it upon them and they run away screaming never to come back. Perhaps that moody, unsociable librarian has a point.

 

image: nerdfighter.ning.com

About Lemba

Non-conformist Writing Soul and Language Geek from the Lowlands with a South London accent, currently living a nomadic, location- independent lifestyle. While executing the Big Fat Writing Plan I’m invading cyberspace with my views on 'expat living', travel and other lifestyle choices, current affairs and other randomness. Welcome to the Dark Fairy Zone.

Leave a Reply

