Summer’s End

Standard

A few weeks ago when temperatures reached 20 plus degrees and I was wearing my flip flops as if I was still in Egypt, I was convinced we were going to enjoy a freak autumn; a New England fall with colourful leaves and plenty of sunshine. I guess global warming is really rearing its ugly head as temperatures have dropped quite drastically and the dream of not buying a winter coat until Christmas remained just that; a dream, only now a far more distant one. The clocks have been turned back which not only meant I got to sleep an hour longer after returning from my friend Kay’s rather sophisticated Big Three O Birthday Do, but it also means getting up in the dark if I wish to be disciplined enough to do early morning studying or yoga (or both) or simply have a 9 o’clock start. For this fairy the arrival of autumn means less energy and slightly less up beat thoughts. No need to be a drama queen and call it a winter depression but for sure I wish I were Mama Bear and could go into hibernation. Since I am a big-city fairy aiming to be more aligned with nature might sound like a load of hippy b*llocks. But I do believe that the folks of the Old Ways had a point. In this season nature is going into a coma to be revived again in a few months time. We have established that we beautiful humans are just another type of mammal yet we’re suppose to be on top of our game 365 days a year, come rain or come shine a mean-lean-four-season’s machine. Although I don’t like the cold and the darkness, let me be a true fairy and follow nature’s rhythm. It is socially not acceptable to hide in a cave only to come out when spring arrives nor is it practical at the moment to follow the migrating birds and go South. What I can do is let die what I don’t need. Get rid off counter productive thoughts and attitudes, accept that I have less energy and use the reserves I have wisely. And when the light and the warmth returns I’ll have prepared the soil to spread seeds of fabulous ideas and actions that will grow into great achievements. When this fairy grows up she’ll be definitely following those migrating birds on their way South. In the mean time she is wishing you a fruitful New Year.

Blessings

image: room9ushistory.blogspot.com

 

About Lemba

Non-conformist Writing Soul and Language Geek from the Lowlands with a South London accent, currently living a nomadic, location- independent lifestyle. While executing the Big Fat Writing Plan I’m invading cyberspace with my views on 'expat living', travel and other lifestyle choices, current affairs and other randomness. Welcome to the Dark Fairy Zone.

Leave a Reply

