Unclear and Present Danger

Standard

My mind functions a bit like the one of a five-year old; I am easily entertained, easily bored and I’ll ask you why you have a big fat nose if that is really the case. I am also quite easily excited or appalled. And appalled I was when I watched Michael Moore’s Capitalism: a Love Story a few days ago. I was appalled to the extend that I had a rather bad night sleep. Now I have calmed down a bit I can understand why people don’t want to know about all the b*llocks in the world. They just want food on the table, be able to pay the rent or mortgage, watch EastEnders and Strictly and that’ll be that. Now these people might just be ignorant, but on the other hand what is the point of winding yourself up about all the injustice in the world especially when there is probably very little you can do about it. Ignorance is bliss indeed.

But then, I want to know. Besides that I am a very curious person, not that I necessarily care about who will win the X Factor but curious nevertheless, I want to know if I- or a fellow or sister fairy- am being f*cked over, even if I seem powerless to do anything about it. But if knowledge is power then being or becoming in charge starts with knowing. I might be sensitive to conspiracy theories, one of the reasons is because they can be deliciously dramatic, but whether you believe in them or not, there is an awful lot going on that our governments don’t tell us about. Maybe for ‘good reasons’, to maintain law and order, ’cause  rioting sheep is not a pretty sight, but probably for far less good reasons. There are plenty of examples of the state f*cking over its citizens. Who says this does not happen on a mass scale? Here in the UK since Tony got in at number 10, it is all about spin and how you present the sheep their hay. Curtailing civil liberties in name of security, giving our hard-earned cash in the form of a bail-out with no strings attached to the-so-called-masters-and -mistresses of-the-universe, who got rich by selling hot air and gave us boom and a far bigger bust in the name of protecting our economy. Inviting companies who are partly responsible for the obesity crisis to write the government’s health plan on- guess what- how to tackle obesity in the name of incorporating businesses into government policies or however they want to sell this one to the public. Ignorance might be bliss, but stay on your toes, boys and girls and don’t believe the hype. When it comes to spin or the free market life quite often is not a nicely wrapped box of chocolates. And if it is, in most cases the chocolate sucks.

About Lemba

Non-conformist Writing Soul and Language Geek from the Lowlands with a South London accent, currently living a nomadic, location- independent lifestyle. While executing the Big Fat Writing Plan I’m invading cyberspace with my views on 'expat living', travel and other lifestyle choices, current affairs and other randomness. Welcome to the Dark Fairy Zone.

Leave a Reply

