Let the Light Return

Standard

This year I genuinely made an attempt to do it like most people do it; I had booked myself a ticket to Lowlands Country to spend Christmas with the whole family. I hadn’t been to Lowlands Country for Christmas in years and my reasoning was that if I didn’t go this year I wouldn’t go for several years to come. I am not a big fan of X-mas as the true essence of it- whatever that may be- seems lost to most people. Surely X-mas is not about hunting for presents in abominable weather with the little time or money (or both) you have. I doubt it is about turning your local supermarket into a battle field and I doubt it’s about bringing the country to an absolute standstill with no public transport in operation. I don’t mean to bring about a bah-humbug spirit. I just don’t like doing what everyone else is doing just for the sake of it. But this year I intended to do what they all seem to be doing in lame Hollywood X-mas flics: going home for X-mas (whatever the obstacle). And then those four uni deadlines in January seemed like proper work all of the sudden instead of just a few scribbles in my diary. And the plan to seriously dust off and brush up on my beloved/behated squiggle languge seemed rather unrealistic if I were to have a two week holiday removed from all my books – it would have been an awful lot to drag along- and the comfort and focus of my own home. And then you have the losers of Eurostar whose service got horribly disrupted due to a tiny bit of snow and ice. Was I willing to deal with all this b*llocks? Nay, sir, really not in the mood.

So at home I remained, with some entertainment in the form of nice wine, herbs and DVDs -of which two in Arabic so it is educational too – and a clear focus and determination to achieve all the b*llocks I want to achieve. As the midwinter fest Yule is celebrating the return of the light after the darkest day, the return of hope it could be celebrated in anyway you see fit. This is going to be my way this year, but whatever you do, have a lovely, festive, inspirational, studious, focussed and/or relaxed Yule.

Very warm midwinter wishes,

Studious Dark Fairy

image: sodahead.com

About Lemba

Non-conformist Writing Soul and Language Geek from the Lowlands with a South London accent, currently living a nomadic, location- independent lifestyle. While executing the Big Fat Writing Plan I’m invading cyberspace with my views on 'expat living', travel and other lifestyle choices, current affairs and other randomness. Welcome to the Dark Fairy Zone.

Leave a Reply

