Dark Fairy Yule Ways

Standard

I hadn’t gone to Lowlands Country for Christmas for quite a few years and have therefore been able to avoid tedious yet slightly pressurised family gatherings for quite some time. My dear sister, however, gave birth to her second child last month and as the funky Dark Fairy aunt it is my moral fairy obligation to personally welcome the new born into this brave new world. As I left on the shortest day of the year and was to return on Christmas day- don’t ask, long story- the day that this country is thrown back into the dark ages for just a day as there is no public transport whatsoever and taxis charge double the rate, so a cab fare home from the airport would have cost me the same as a return Lowlands Country with a respectable airline carrier, and being perfectly capable of being the stingy Dutchie at times I was not having any of that b*llocks, I cycled lightly-packed through a dark, rainy and windy London to Paddington station where I parked my beloved two-wheeled baby and told her to be good. In between the meteorological misery of London and Lowlands Country was a trip across a bright blue sky above a sea of cotton wool, which made me think that it’s all about perspective.

I travelled to provincial suburbia to spend a very chilled time with my sister and her family. New Born Nephew is quite a cute and well-designed specimen I can tell you and I’m a rather proud Dark Fairy auntie. Celebrating Christmas as an auntie rather than a daughter and/or a niece creates a different dynamic, one I find rather enjoyable. As Christmas in our family has always evolved very much around food and no presents are given, my sister and her partner made sure fridge and cupboards were well-stocked. As the New Born Nephew needs a present I thought to display my Funky Dark Fairy Sugar Auntiness by providing presents for all.

Then followed the new experience of travelling on Christmas day. Let me tell you, I’ve become a fan. Travelling by train to the airport, checking in, going through customs and security, boarding, going through UK customs, it all was a pleasant summer breeze as there are not that many people around and working folk tend to be in a pleasant mood. I took the rather pricey bus replacement service for the Heathrow Express from the airport taking us to Paddington station where my vehicle had indeed been good and she brought me home safe and sound through a very quiet London.

Wishing you peace and light and a blessed Yule

About Lemba

Non-conformist Writing Soul and Language Geek from the Lowlands with a South London accent, currently living a nomadic, location- independent lifestyle. While executing the Big Fat Writing Plan I’m invading cyberspace with my views on 'expat living', travel and other lifestyle choices, current affairs and other randomness. Welcome to the Dark Fairy Zone.

2 responses »

  1. Sounds like u had a nice time despite having to travel on the holy day! Wishing u a belated Xmas from the West Side! 🙂 lots lif merry love xxx

Leave a Reply

