Trials and Tribulations of the Dark Fairy Soul

Standard

mountain topAnd so the wheel keeps on turning. After having been deprived from hot and sunny weather for what seems like an eternity, the country has fi-na-lly been basking in glorious summer weather. Sure, it has been hot- maybe too hot for some- and tropical temperatures are to return, but an environment of hot and less hot-bodies in the park, generally improved moods and more outdoor activity must be the best panacea for the in Northern-Europe-dwelling Dark Fairy Soul. My summer will be a prolonged one as the Dark Fairy is to embark on a new adventure. I’ll be leaving the City of Cities and return to the good life at the Med. Not to Alexandria but to an island packed with British folk and with a language similar to Arabic. My winter escape plan is sorted.

Meanwhile, Egypt is in turmoil and just when I thought the police forces couldn’t piss me off more than they already have done, they unpleasantly surprised me with the revelation of even more dirty police tactics. While on my way out I had my first UK festival experience and my first festival experience in more than a decade. Although I was a tat out of practice fabulous people’s vibes, music and herbs formed the perfect mini-break.

While relishing the fact I am to start a new adventure I haven’t paid the Dark Fairy Writing Soul much attention. I guess it’s the twistedness of the writing ambition. One knows writing will set one free and then at the same time one is not writing and seemingly has trouble getting into gear. As I’m milking the British summer and am terribly excited about times to come, I also realise it distracts me from working on the things that matter. The things I want to matter, like nurturing the writing soul. As we’re reaching the height of summer I want to do it all; play in the sunshine, write and work on all that I want to be and do when I grow up.

Transitional greetings,

About Lemba

Non-conformist Writing Soul and Language Geek from the Lowlands with a South London accent, currently living a nomadic, location- independent lifestyle. While executing the Big Fat Writing Plan I’m invading cyberspace with my views on 'expat living', travel and other lifestyle choices, current affairs and other randomness. Welcome to the Dark Fairy Zone.

Leave a Reply

