Fear and Loathing at Yule Tides

Standard

yuletide_magic_by_philippaopao-d32f08pYeah, it’s been a while, eh. As I stated once before, the longer the cyber space absence lasts, the harder it seems to break the radio silence.

After my return from marvelous SA I continued the globetrotting lifestyle in Europe, alternating residencies in Lowlands Country, Malta and London Town. I returned to a so-called more settled life of corporate prostitution sometime mid September, which was much harder work than I expected. My corporate pimp treats me very well, but nevertheless I am using my writing skills for his enterprise, which isn’t terribly demanding in terms of language geekiness, rather than for my own development, sanity and salvation.

Meanwhile I have been tutting, sighing and eye-rolling because of the headlines produced by the über-whore that is the mainstream media. An attack on our ‘civil liberties’ here and there, a seemingly all-of-the-sudden influx of refugees into the Continent of Europe, nauseatingly blended with big dollops of fear-mongering and we almost have World War 3 on our hands. Brilliant news for shareholders of BAE Systems or Lockheed Martin, pretty lousy for everyone else, especially the poor people of Syria. While the world goes to shit to the benefit of a psychopathic few, winter has hit the Rock and I’m rather busy conjuring up all sorts of new Dark Fairy Adventures.

Oh, yes and then there are these celebrations for the birth of a baby boy in Nazareth quite a while ago. He is considered a prophet to some, the son of god to others and not much more then some very well-known mythological figure to some fringe folk. This (imaginary) birth is celebrated by the display of some serious consumerism, stuffing one’s face and getting together with loved ones and liked ones. As these celebrations are  just a reinvention of older festivals, we might as well (also) celebrate the return of the light, as the shortest day of the year has been and, light-wise, the only way is up until the beginning of summer.

Whatever you do this time of year, make your celebration, commemoration or contemplation an authentic one. One that is just a tiny bit more than we-doing-this-shit-every-year-but-we-actually-have-no-clue-why-really. I aim to relax, regain focus and spend some fabulous days with some wonderful people and I might just celebrate how blessed I am with all the marvelous people in my life and that I can be as free as a Dark Fairy can be, as long as I set my mind to it.

Happy Yule times

top image by phillipaopao

 

About Lemba

Non-conformist Writing Soul and Language Geek from the Lowlands with a South London accent, currently living a nomadic, location- independent lifestyle. While executing the Big Fat Writing Plan I’m invading cyberspace with my views on 'expat living', travel and other lifestyle choices, current affairs and other randomness. Welcome to the Dark Fairy Zone.

Leave a Reply

